Sign In
Endowments at UVA

John Morton Beaty Endowed Professorship


The John Morton Beaty Professorship in Political Science at the University of Virginia's College at Wise was created by Lelia Maude Beaty Richmond, Sarah Beaty, and Mayo Beaty Dotson in memory of their father, the Honorable John Morton Beaty. Mr. Beaty's lifelong interests included education, business, and politics. He served as chair of the Wise County School Board and president of the Wise County National Bank. Mr. Beaty was first elected to the Senate of Virginia in 1923 and reelected in 1927. He died during the General Assembly session of 1928.

Garrett W. Sheldon 1997-present

History of Past Recipients and Projects