Sign In
Endowments at UVA

Class of 1962 Professorship


The Class of 1962 Professorship in Law was funded by members of the class to mark their twenty-fifth reunion. Class members C. Dale Harman, Jr.; Dan O. Callaghan; Gerald E. Gilbert; and Thomas D. Soutter led the fund-raising effort for the chair. Also instrumental in its creation were Edwin B. Brown; the late Lewis M. Costello; John J. Hamilton; Richard C. Johnson; the late Charles M. Kidd; Cecil D. Quillen, Jr.; John W. Ragsdale, Jr.; Palmer S. Rutherford, Jr.; Morris W. Savage; Norman A. Scher; Murray S. Simpson, Jr.; and Richard W. Wilkinson. This professorship supported a second chairholder from 1988 to 2001. The endowment for the chairs was consolidated in 2002.

John K. Setear 2006-present

History of Past Recipients and Projects